Lube Advisor

New API Categories For Heavy Duty

New standards are now established, as of Dec. 1, 2016, for a new generation of heavy duty diesel engine oil, initiated by changes in U.S. government fuel economy and emissions regulations. These updated performance requirements for the new PC-11 category of heavy duty oils have brought pressure to bear on oil and lubricant manufacturers and engine oil manufactures who had to pass stricter, more rigorous tests. There are also stricter limits imposed by the API on existing test specifications.

However, the inevitable move toward lighter viscosity oils, new classifications and category upgrades will mean better performance, including improved friction and wear protection, reduced oxidation, better shear stability, increased fuel efficiency and decreased emissions, among other things.

To be certified and approved, oil formulations must comply with API CK-4 or FA-4 category requirements, which represent the latest standards. These categories exceed the standards required by the previous standard API CJ-4 classification.

CK-4 designated oils are backwards compatible with the types of diesel engine oils now in use, including the same viscosity grades and oil types. FA-4 engine oils designate even lighter viscosity formulations that maximize fuel economy without sacrificing performance and protection. As of early 2017, there’s been slow demand for FA-4.

MAG 1® New Performance Test Results

These charts show how MAG 1® Heavy Duty Diesel Engine Oil perform better than API limits for newest CK-4 standards and rigorous testing.

Wear Protection

Oxidation Control

Deposit Control

Tests apply to MAG 1 Full Synthetic, Synthetic Blend and Premium Conventional Heavy Duty Diesel Engine Oil